What ONE DAY Means

“One day, Jesus came from Nazareth in Galilee and he was baptized by John in the Jordan River.”  – Mark 1:9

A momentous, single day that has been the deciding point of Jesus’ human life – to leave Nazareth inorder to fulfill the will of the Father and launch His ministry. The thirty years that has prepared him inorder to start his “real work” on Earth. I pause and think about the things that he let go in Nazareth – his family, friends, a trade maybe ( being a carpenter’s son) and everything else that are all-too- familiar with him. His comfort zone!  I can pretty well relate as we have been moving many times over. Leaving our own ” Nazareths” inorder to embrace the new places and new circumstances in our lives. As a growing child, we have moved thrice due to career decisions of my parents, sent to boarding schools in my high school and college years, and now as an adult, we have been moving  – following my husband because of new job locations.

Letting go is a learned art, I know. When I think about Jesus, how he let go of his own Nazareth, I know that everything else that I let go has an eternal reward.  That ONE , significant day that I let go of something in order to take a step into the unknown – the next step of God’s will in my life. Yes, there are inconveniences, we feel sad leaving friends and families  (or could be the other way around, friends and family, especially grown-up children,  leaving us!) , but I know that I have entrusted the unknown into the Maker’s hands.  Jesus is my Teacher in the art of letting go. He teaches me to open my hands (and my heart!) so I can hold on to something new and beautiful once again.

Grateful for that ONE DAY!

“But forget all that—
it is nothing compared to what I am going to do.
For I am about to do something new.
See, I have already begun! Do you not see it?
I will make a pathway through the wilderness.
I will create rivers in the dry wasteland.

  • – Isaiah 43: 18-19
Leave a Reply

