Deeply Loved

Nursing bad colds is what I dreaded for the week. Of course, nobody wants one but I guess the stress of moving, unpacking, cleaning and arranging , plus the bad weather , make a good recipe for one. I am comforted when I learned that Daniel (as I am reading the book of Daniel) experienced the same. Faced with “overwhelming situations” , like his case as he waited for the interpretation of the vision that he just had, he “lay sick for several days” (Daniel 8:27). When faced with “overwhelming situations” like my case , our physical strength just depletes. This “rest” gives me the time to draw more closer to God, my Yahweh Rapha , the One who heals.

What does He tell me this time? He tells me that :

1. Even if it takes quite long to see the answers to my prayers, He listens. He answers. Try to personalize the following verse as I do –

“Don’t be afraid, (Daniel) ________(change it with your name) . Since the first day you began to pray for understanding and to humble yourself before your God, your request has been heard in heaven. I have come in answer to your prayer.” (Daniel 10:12)

Looking back, I know now my prayers were answered based on God’s time table, not mine. And similarly, when we pray, there’s also a war being waged in the heavens as Daniel’s messenger has experienced.

” For we are not fighting against flesh-and-blood enemies, but against evil rulers and authorities of the unseen world, against mighty powers in this dark world, and against evil spirits in the heavenly places.” (Ephesians 6:12)

True enough, this battle is not ours, but God’s . He is our Yahweh Nissi, our Banner. When He came into flesh and died for us, He has won it all for us! If the answer comes in later or sooner, it doesn’t matter. From the time we present it and humbled ourselves before Him, He has listened.

2. I am deeply loved.

“Don’t be afraid,” he said, “for you are deeply loved by God. Be at peace; take heart and be strong!” ( Daniel 10:19)

I remember overcoming trials in the past and facing disappointments in relationships, I had this verse spoken everyday – “I have always loved you, says the Lord…” (Malachi 1:2a) . God’s love is unconditional and it knows no end, perfected on the cross  – the hope that brings humanity back to Him. How comforting and reassuring! And that same love gives us peace, courage and strength (Daniel 10:19b) to whatever “overwhelming situation” we are facing.

No matter how many times or in whatever manner people say they love me, God saying ” I love you deeply” matters more to me.

“For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life.” – John 3:16

“And hope does not put us to shame, because God’s love has been poured out into our hearts through the Holy Spirit, who has been given to us.” – Romans 5:5

May God’s perfect love give you peace, courage and strength now and always…

 
Leave a Reply

