Fishers of Men

Recently, I was gifted with a lovely handcrafted fish brooch from Helen, a  good-natured Kiwi who owns a bed and breakfast in NZ where my husband stayed briefly while he was there. I told her it constantly reminds me of Matthew 4:19 – that we are called to be fishers of men.

What does it truly mean to be fishers of men?

When Jesus said to the fishermen Simon Peter and his brother Andrew “Come, follow me and I will make you fishers of men”,  they put down their nets at once and followed him.

To be able to understand how I can become a fisher of men, I need to know how fishermen are – how they behave, how equipped they are in doing their job and how they do it well.

A quick research tells me, the fisherman:

1.       Knows the fish that he is looking for.

2.       Studies the habits and behavior of the kind/s of fish

3.       Studies and familiarizes himself with the fish’s  natural habitat

4.       Knows what equipment to use inorder to get a bigger catch

5.       Knows the specific bait for a certain type of fish

And lastly :

6.        Knows he might spend a longer time out in the sea for that catch

In our Christian life and as we are called to be fishers of men, we should:

1.       Know the people that we are bringing to Christ (Matthew 11:27) , while not playing ‘’god’’ over these people.

2.       Get equipped through the empowering ministry tools in the local church that you are part of.  (Ephesians 4:11-13)

3.       Put on the whole armor of God to defeat the schemes of the enemy (Ephesians 6:10-18)

4.       Know that we bear the Message of Good News, no less!  Jesus Christ is the wisdom and power of God! ( 1 Corinthians 1:18)

And lastly, as it may be lonely sometimes in the sea of trials and adversities;

5.       Know that God is the God of comfort. Even if our flesh and hearts may fail, He is our strength and our portion forever. (Psalm 73:26)

On a personal note, Helen replied to my email and left me with these meaningful words,

“Sometimes, to be fishers of men requires much sacrifice i.e. having your husband away for often weeks on end, but God will enable you during these times of separation and will make you stronger as you dig deep into Him for your need.’’

So true. There are times when I miss my husband when he’s out ‘fishing’. Times like this, I turn to God for He is the source of my comfort and His presence is always more than enough!

Image

that lovely silver fish brooch I used as a belt clasp (taken with my “fisher” husband during our local church’s 18th yr anniversary celebration)

2 thoughts on “Fishers of Men

    • thanks! yes, being fishers of men is a daily reminder – wherever we are and whatever influence we may have on other people. We continue to abide in Him as He refreshes us day after day, season after season!

Leave a Reply

