Replanting Season

Nasty asthma attacks kept me home today.  This is the time when I should be well-rested as my doctor  (who also happens to be a dear friend!) said, but when you are used to be working around , it is sometimes difficult to even just shut your mind off. If only there is a no-brain snooze alert button, I’d gladly push it on a second! But thank God we’re not robots and I thank Him even more that times like this only make me draw closer to Him.

I read my past journals and I have seen how God has answered my prayers in different ways.  I held back a tear or two as I looked back on how God has orchestrated everything in my life and that of my family and put us to be where He always wanted us to be.  My journals were like a never-ending love letter-writing to God and He always answers in specific, clear ways.  After all our “God is not a God of confusion but of peace” (1 Corinthians 14:33a).  I poured out all my heartaches, even discontentment, sorrows and cried tears of joy many times over! Just like today.

The beauty of reading and meditating God’s word every day and doing it over and over again is that His word is true and never-changing. For instance, I have written in my journal His promise to me in 2011 found in Isaiah 37:30 which was spoken to Hezekiah regarding Judah’s deliverance:

“This year you will eat what grows by itself,
and the second year what springs from that.
But in the third year sow and reap,
plant vineyards and eat their fruit. “

2011 was the year we ventured into a hugely (huge – in our capacity)  capitalized business in one of the leading Supermarkets in the country. The Word was true, we never enjoyed the profits, in fact, we stopped operating due to huge losses that made the business not sustainable at all. 2012 was the toughest year for us, financially and health-wise. But because we held on to God’s promises, and my husband kept on telling me to keep the faith, hold the fort at home while he makes executive decisions and continues to be the main provider, we never wavered. As I mentioned in my previous post, that year has always kept me on my knees in desperation and more importantly in thanksgiving – for in spite of the trials – we always remember that the “joy of the Lord is our strength” (Nehemiah 8:10b).

We’re now in the middle of 2013 and my eyes brightened up then welled when I read the exact verses from above. “But in the third year sow and reap,    plant vineyards and eat their fruit. “ Truly, we are now in the season of replanting, rebuilding the ruins and restoring what was lost. The Year of the Lord’s favor! I will patiently give time for the growth while I wait for the harvest.  And just like the farmer, I know God does much pruning in the process. It will take time, but I do not lose hope. It will create discomfort but He is my comfort.

I pray it will be the same to you today. When faced with tough times, remember what He has spoken to you in the past, not the enemy who is telling lies to you today. Better yet, revisit your journals (if you keep just even one), and be amazed by God’s goodness and faithfulness that see you through all the days of your life.

replanting (tr.v):  To plant (something) again or in a new place

replanting (tr.v): To plant (something) again or in a new place

***

“Have you not heard that I determined it long ago? I planned from days of old what now I bring to pass…” (Isaiah 37:26a)

Leave a Reply

