Capture and Control

Capture and Control.  These words have to do with the manner of thinking and saying because letting it all loose would be chaotic.  They mean a lot to me because in my daily interaction with people, I might have entertained some ungodly thoughts or thought wrongly about some of them  OR said words that might have  brought people down,  instead of building them up.  I know this is a selfish behavior and I know that i need something that’s beyond me, in fact, Someone.  Sounds ridiculous but that is what the word says, I believe it can be done:

1.” .. we capture rebellious thoughts and teach them to obey Christ.” ( 2Corinthians 10:5, NLT)

2. ” Take control of what I say, O Lord,  and guard my lips.” (Psalm 141:3, NLT)

But more than what I entertain in my mind and the words that I am about to speak, a heart-check is needed.  The prophet Jeremiah said it right-on-spot –  “The human heart is most deceitful and desperately wicked. Who really knows how bad it is?”  

Jesus said that “for it is from within, out of a person’s heart, that evil thoughts come...” (Mark7:21a)  and that ” the mouth speaks what the heart is full of.” (Luke 6:45b) .

What is inside my heart that makes me think of that way or wants me to speak of something that is not helpful at all?  What is the cure to this selfish behavior? It is a daily prayer to let God reign in my life , that includes my thoughts and my words.  Because  He is my maker,  He knows me – He knows my deepest need and strongest emotion. It is a decision to make my heart His home – always. Filter my mind, censor my thoughts and words. I will make each rebellious thought captive and obedient to Him.

Yes, I am flawed as a person, that is why I need you, Jesus.  YOU take control.

photo credit: fineartamerica.com

photo credit: fineartamerica.com

Leave a Reply

