Pray for Your City

In mid-week, we are witnesses to 2 tragedies in opposite parts of the world – the Boston marathon bomb blast and the Iranian 7.8 magnitude earthquake.  Both claimed lives and injured hundreds and perhaps traumatized thousands.  While I do not dwell on the gory details of tragic news ,  a decision that I have made because  it doesn’t help me as a person, I have committed to pray for those who are affected and pray that the God who comforts us, will also comfort them in these troubled times.  I pray that the evil and terror that were sown in the land will be replaced with goodness and love. That justice will take place, knowing that there is a Just One who takes account of everything that happens here on earth.

Reading Psalm 101 this morning, I appreciate how David prayed for his leadership over the kingdom that God has entrusted to him. This led me to pray for our leaders and our city, our province and our country.  In the Philippines, we will be electing our local officials in the towns/cities, provinces and the representatives of our districts and senators come May 13. May David’s prayer be our leaders’ prayer. Wherever you are in this world, you can start praying – for your home, your city, your province/district and your country. Election day is not a requirement! 🙂

Psalm 101

A psalm of David

I will sing of your love and justice, Lord.
I will praise you with songs.
I will be careful to live a blameless life—
when will you come to help me?
I will lead a life of integrity
in my own home.
I will refuse to look at
anything vile and vulgar.
I hate all who deal crookedly;
I will have nothing to do with them.
I will reject perverse ideas
and stay away from every evil.
I will not tolerate people who slander their neighbors.
I will not endure conceit and pride.

I will search for faithful people
to be my companions.
Only those who are above reproach
will be allowed to serve me.
I will not allow deceivers to serve in my house,
and liars will not stay in my presence.
My daily task will be to ferret out the wicked
and free the city of the Lord from their grip.

It is my prayer that our elected officials and leaders will start leading from their homes, will strive to live a blameless life, will be surrounded with godly advisers and workers , be faithful in their commitment to protect the city, province, district and country  that they were called to serve in… Long list and hard stock. That is why when they take oath of office, they end it by saying, “So, help me God”.  It starts and ends with Him. And when bad things strike, it is my prayer that it will turn out for good for God is able to accomplish everything to work together for the good of those who love Him and are called according to his purpose for them (Romans 8:28).  This is an invitation to pray for your city today and let God move in the hearts of our leaders and men.

Image

photo source: bejoyfulalways.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

