Moon, Sun and Mountains

They say that fools rush in just because it is April (I hope you weren’t a victim of some pranksters!), but I do say, the HEAT is definitely on in April,  more so in this side of the world! To beat the heat, we had a great Easter getaway to the mountains and the sight was wonderfully glorious, (and yes, we didn’t miss the fun part, too!)!  The afternoon we arrived was marked with a heavy downpour of rain (was told it was the only part where it rains mostly in the afternoons)  but the moon that dotted the night was magnificent!

Image

(don’t mind the blurry shot, ’twas freezing cold when our daughter took it!)

The moon was the bonus, for in the morning, the great sunburst was awesomely warm – you can literally feel God’s love wrapped around you!

Image

And so in the morning I just gazed into the beauty of creation , how the trees bent in the wind’s direction, the birds sung in chorus, and how the  dewdrops felt through my fingers. No wonder David said this (Psalm 19:1-6):

“The heavens proclaim the glory of God.
    The skies display his craftsmanship.
 Day after day they continue to speak;
    night after night they make him known.
They speak without a sound or word;
    their voice is never heard.
Yet their message has gone throughout the earth,
    and their words to all the world.

God has made a home in the heavens for the sun.
It bursts forth like a radiant bridegroom after his wedding.
    It rejoices like a great athlete eager to run the race.
The sun rises at one end of the heavens
    and follows its course to the other end.
    Nothing can hide from its heat.”

When I looked at this, my heart let out an outburst of  praises to the King of Kings, the Maker of all creation.

DSC08427

I thank You Lord, for holding me so close that I can feel Your warmth like the sun and for lighting my path like the brightest moon in the darkest night.  Thank You for allowing me to experience this glorious “mountaintop moment” with You.  Thank you for refreshing me here so I will be ready for the tough work in the valley that await me. I know that “even though I have to walk in the dark valley of death, I will not be afraid for you are close beside me “(Psalm 23:4a). Thank You that You are always with me in the mountains and valleys of my life!

Leave a Reply

