My Dozen Valentine’s

The 14th of Feb is not so much a BIG day for me. It is a day of Love widely celebrated worldwide – and with much funfare! Historical facts though would suggest otherwise, as Mr. Valentine was a martyred saint of long, long time ago. Perhaps, we get that notion that we celebrate it because we’re martyrs of love? Oh, the crazy things that one does for love! Songs hum that romantic theme, so are soap operas and films that bare the soul of a hopeless romantic .. and his/her never-ending search of the one true love…

I have never searched for love – maybe because, even at a young age, I know deep in my heart that he would come- my Prince Charming would sweep me off my feet . And indeed, he came – not the Prince Charming (as we were old school rivals – to say the least) and because I was never a damsel in distress! (coming from a line of strong women) . But he was the PERFECT one to match my IMPERFECTION. It was not a stroke of luck, but I believe that out of the countless men in the universe, God saw him – my Prince Charming – and launched him off to captivate me – a damsel not –so-ever in distress.

My dozen years of celebrating Valentine’s Day with my husband are memorable, not really keeping a list of what we did, where we went and what each of us received. But it was a joyful count of the years that we are together – complementing one’s strengths and weaknesses and relying on the Source of an unconditional love – that it is only by His grace, that we are able to celebrate Love Day , not only today but all through the days of our lifetime together.  Perfect love is available to imperfect people like us.

Greater love has no one than this, that he lay down his life for his friends. (John 15:13)
Leave a Reply

