YES Man

I am happy with what I read a few days ago from the first 2 chapters of the Gospel of Matthew. While in the past I carefully read about the genealogy of Jesus and Mary’s response when the angel appeared to her and announced an unconventional truth that has long been predicted and will soon take place right before her own eyes, that day, I was led to understanding more of Joseph’s (Jesus’ earthly father) own response.

I learned that Joseph was a YES man! – In the four occasions that the angel appeared to him in a dream (Matthew 1:20;  2:13; 2:19; 2: 22) , his response was always a YES (italics mine) .

  1. When he was told to marry Mary despite her situation  –  “When Joseph woke up, he did as the angel of the Lord commanded and took Mary as his wife” – (Matt 1:24)

2.   When he was told to flee to Egypt to escape Herod’s wrath –   “That night Joseph  left for Egypt with the child and Mary, his mother” –  (Matt 2:13)

  1. When he was told to return to Israel-  So Joseph got up and returned to theland ofIsrael with Jesus and his mother. – (Matt 2:21)

4.   When he was told to go to Nazareth – “So the family went and lived in a town calledNazareth.” – (Matt 2:23)

As I was contemplating on these verses, I also began to think about the YES men in my life. Although a movie buff, I haven’t seen the Yes Man movie starred by an all-time fave Jim Carrey ( that should be in my to watch list), but I like the term Yes Man. Living in a typically matriarchal society, a Yes Man connotes a different meaning.  However, the YES man that I learned biblically is the REAL MAN. One who is devoted to the word of God and faithfully obeys His commands, thus bringing peace and prosperity (could be blessings of harmonious relationships or good health, not particularly with material wealth alone)  to his family.

So I think about the YES men in my life. . I thank the Lord for my dad, who, for a time answered to God’s call to be a blessing in his work that has brought us to different places because of his work assignments and finally settling down in his hometown province.   He is a hardworking man, who in his prime years, has his hands always full that were matched by a heart that’s big – full of generosity and unfailing love.

My husband, Jones, whom I have mentioned in my previous post – has led us to different places in different circumstances, I pray that each time God calls him to accomplish His purpose, I will be ready to affirm his YES to Him.

Joseph did just that, it was a Yes to Him for all of those were already foretold long time ago. Same with us – we may not understand our Yes today, but we are confident that the Author already appointed the perfect time for all of these to come to pass.  After all, we are asking a God who has told us to “ ask for anything you like , and make it as difficult as you want! “ (Isaiah 7:11), then everything will be just fine…

Leave a Reply

